Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What

can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In today’s world, it is widely perceived that tons of surplus food are being frittered away day-to-day. This phenomenon could be attributed to a number of determinants, but several approaches could be adopted to tackle it. This essay will elaborate the causes and factors of jettisoned food and ways to minimize the number of wasted food.

There are numerous reasons why food is being wasted everyday around the globe, one of which is the excessive buying of groceries. Due to the fast-paced and competitive lifestyle, people tend to lessen their time on shopping for groceries weekly. More specifically, rather than showing up everyday in the mall, shoppers feel more grooving to just visit the mall once a week, this would therefore cause an impulse purchase without thinking thoroughly about what they will consume in a week. Another justifications is that mall tend to have sales promotion for food that is having a short shelf lives, in spite of the short lifespan of the food, consumer is fulfilling with a “half the price product” which would in turn creating more and more abundant food ended up in landfills that even have not been touched yet.

In order to combat the above mentioned problems, the authorities should place emphasis on the following elements. First and foremost, levying a tax on uncooked food will lessen the number of over-buying of fresh food and pump up the number of canned food being purchased, this would help food to be preserved easily without proper storing. Another measure would be for the consumers to turn wasted food into compost that helps the environment, though to prevent wasted food people should consider having a proper storing system such as a fridge, a cooler or even a spotless kitchen cabinet.

In sum, various actions can be taken to resolve the problems that are certain to arise as humans are more and more unaware of the situation happening around them.