Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Advancement of technology have pushed us towards digitalization of almost everything, Even transactions are now a days have become digital. Therefore, slowly and steadily whole economy is moving towards paper less currency, which has its own share of pros and cons. In this essay, we will discuss both the advantages as well as disadvantages of e-currency.

Primarily, electronic transactions and plastic currency are more convenient and time saver, which are need of the hour. Since, we have access to the credit or debit cards, we don’t have to carry cash everywhere nor need to write a check which usually takes a couple of days to get clear. For instance, while going for the shopping, we don’t have to worry about carrying bulk of cash but, just swipe or tap our cards to pay which is very convenient. Moreover, digital transactions save our lot of time as well, by making it easy to shop from anywhere using our VISA or Master cards and paying within few minutes. I personally hate standing in long queues for the payment of utilities or in bank for withdrawing which were very time-consuming.

On the contrary, it has its own negative aspects, such as victim of cyber attack and hacking, over expenditure are few to count. People have very little knowledge of cyber security and often been trapped by hacker and end up losing money. To support the argument, a survey is been published according to which, almost 60 percent of people have reported cases of their money been stolen through their e-banking account. Furthermore, lucrative offers by the credit card issuing banks make people spend carelessly while shopping. The new article in a leading newspaper held a survey in Mumbai city, which clearly states that people’s monthly expenditure have gone up by 30% due to credit cards.

In conclude, instead of some adverse effects, the use of plastic money for making and receiving payments has become our necessity. It provides a plethora of advantages but we have to be careful while using it.