Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

The major subject of debate in our education system is to decide curriculum for students. Some people strongly advocate the independence of students to choose their subjects for their curriculum while other did not agree as it might hamper their knowledge foundation. Though, I do support the idea of declaring difficult subjects as optional such as mathematics and philosophy.

Few people have rigid mentality therefore they don’t support the idea of giving freedom to the students to opt out of the difficult subjects. Providing freedom from childhood to choose which is convenient and easy for them will eventually spoil school students and will not learn to step out of their comfort zone. For instance, if a child was force to learn all the subjects irrespective of their interest and difficulty level, provide them confidence that they can also achieve success by stepping out of their comfort zone.

Whereas, some people believe that subjects like mathematics and philosophy which were usually found troublesome by majority of school going children should be made non-compulsory. Such few tuff subjects might demotivate students and hamper their overall education. Instead, if they were allowed to choose the subjects which interest them will not only improve their performance but also give them clarity for further studies and future. Many studies are showing that if a child is given freedom to decide the field of their interest will become more successful in future.

The debate on allowing freedom to the students to opt for the subject to study by their own is never ending. While few support the idea, others will decline. In my opinion, it is the right of every individual to pursue the field of studies of their capacity and interest, so that they can give cent percent of their efforts and will study without pressure.