Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.To what extent do you agree?

Knowledge is like a candle that burns and give light to anyone around it; however, many people argue that subjects like mathematics and philosophy should not be compulsory in schools as they should be optional. I am fully agreed with the statement and opine that interest should be the key factor for children to decide what they want to learn.

First and foremost, interest is recalled as the liking toward anything and should be considered while choosing the course to learn. Owing to this, a passion for learning among the children is ignited. Not only they will learn but will also find harmony in life. As a result, the learner will get the profession they desire in no time. For instance, a survey conducted by Japan's child welfare association shows that students who chose their preferred course in their early learning period are more successful economically than those who took the subjects out of their interest. Needless to say, schooling should not be bounded to disinterest.

Elaborating my viewpoint, there are some more merits but prominent one is brewing of confidence among the teens regarding their choices they have made in their lives. Because of this, a feel of righteousness is nurtured in the students which lead them to become a leader to be followed. Moreover, their quick decision-making can turn them into an influential figure who can influence the society with ease. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favor of this trend.

To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach to conclusion that the benefits of choosing the subjects among children with their interest as a key factor are indeed too great to ignore.