Nowadays shops have extended opening hours almost every day of the week in many countries Is it a positive or negative development for shoppers and local community

These days, with the improvement of consumer society, shopping plays an important role in people’s daily lives. As a result, in order to meet the high demand of customers, more and more stores have a tendency to extend their working hours to almost all day and even weekends. I totally believe that it is a positive phenomenon and this essay will analyze my own opinion.

Firstly, no one can deny the fact that markets which open overnight can supply people from all works of life with fresh foods and other convenient products. Particularly, in the past, it used to be difficult for staffs who worked in night shifts to purchase items for their daily livings mainly because they ended up working lately when all convenient stores closed. Therefore, with today’s flexible time for making new purchases, they no longer need to store up foods during weeks which may contain a lot of serious bacteria. Moreover, their families can also enjoy fresh foods which provide them with a large amount of nutrition and prevent them from dangerous diseases such as cancer and gastropathy.

Secondly, it is evident that the longer working time of some shops leads to the significant demand for work labor with a lot of job opportunities. Hence, a huge number of people can escape from being unemployment and get chances to alter their lives for a better with higher income. That is the reason why there are more and more students who are occupied with assignments at their universities can apply for part-time jobs at night so as to earn for their livings. Furthermore, the reduction in unemployment rate will be also accompanied by the decline of the number of criminals in our society which enable the world to beef up the economy and citizens’ lives as well.

To sum up, there is no doubt that the increase in stores which remain for all day is extremely beneficial resulting in the higher living standard as well as economic growth.