Nowadays, some countries are spending a lot of money to make it easier to use a bicycle. why is this so? ls, it the best solution to the transport problem?

Many developed countries indeed started investing in industries which make clean transport solution like bicycles. As a result, there is a surge in the number of cycles when compared to bikes available. This essay intends to analyse this phenomenon. In my opinion, cycling is the right transportation solution, although it is not the best one.

To start with, the main reason for the companies investing in cycle industries is that this mode of transportation is fast-growing and help to tackle traffic congestion and pollution. As the population is burgeoning the use of vehicles in the road is the also increasing, these leads to busy and crowded streets, investment in widening the road will be a burden to the government. Secondly, it is a clean source of transportation, as there will not be a carbon footprint. Added to it, these modes of transportation is cheaper and healthier, as there is no such colossal investment need for a person to use it, although it is a mode of exercise and help the person to stay fit.

Besides, as the investment in these industries is booming, there is a mushroom growth of the small scale sector and hence providing a lot of job opportunities. Even the government is allocating funds to build a dedicated cycle lane to boost the use of cycles across the cities. For instance, during the pandemic, the government of Haryana promotes building cycle lane in the cities; this helps to create job options for the people who are facing suffering due to the situation. In total, it has a positive impact on society.

As far as the best transport solution concerned, cycling has its limitation and cannot be placed as the best solution. Everyone in society cannot cycle, elderly, kids, pregnant woman may find it difficult. Another major concern is safety; whatever gears we wear it is not as safe as motor vehicles. Cycling is vulnerable to weather conditions. Finally, a basic level of fitness is required for cycling to a long distance. Public transports, on the other hand, cater to all segments of society.

To sum up, there are many motives for the government to invest in promoting cyclings which are explained in the above paragraphs. But, it is not the best solution for the transportation problem. Investing in public transportation takes the lead in this arena.