Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has modified our interpersonal interactions both in positive and negative ways. While positive changes have been attained to a significant extent, still the negative impacts are prominent enough to dwarf the positive.

In yesteryears, the usual ways of communication and making new relations were face-to-face contact or through writting. Currently the technology has revolutionised the human interpersonal interactions by indroducing cutting-edge communication devices such as mobile phones, internernets etc. Today, it has imparted its impacts on relationships in business, education and social life. Firstly, tremendous development in the field of telecommunication and Internet has allowed the business-people to communicate with each other instantly from different cities or countries. Beside this, the internet has also modified the way of customers communications of the businesses organisations. Using technology they are now directly communicating with their customers to advertise their produts or to take their instant feedbacks. Secondly, services like skype, has created a different dimension of relationships between teachers and students. For example, the student now can take video lesson with a teacher from a different city or country. Finally, online social platforms like facebook, Twitter, Google plus have allowed people to communicate and share contents among each others no matter whatever the distence is. Through these platforms, a lot of people who share a common interests are exchanging their feelings as well as audio-visual contents. Furthermore, some people now depends on social medias to find new friends as well as their life partners.

However, there are plethora of evidences why the new horizon of connecting mode that evolved from the advancement of the communication technology should be considered as a negative development. In fact, It is adversely affecting our domestic as well as social relationships. Owing to the attraction towards the utopian virtual world some technology savvy people specially the adolescents are becoming isolated and showing more interest in virtual relationships over the real ones. This is creating void spaces between our interpersonal relationships which is a threat to our social as well as the familial structures.

To conclude, I pen down recapitulating that the basic modes of relationship making process have been extensively mutated by technology but not to a positive direction.