Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

The way we socialise has been drastically changed by technology. It has been an intricate tool shaping modern-day relationships, helping people to make healthier and meaningful relationships, by connecting us to like-minded people instantly. This most certainly is a step in the right direction.

On one the hand, technology has reached every aspect of our lives, causing some to be addicted to it. To illustrate, some people find it much more pleasing to have an online communication than go out and have an actual conversation with their friends. In addition, social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram and, Snapchat have all made people to out-do their peers and project themselves as superior. For instance, many teenagers want to engage in risk seeking activities like hanging on a high-rise crane just to post videos of it and become popular among their group. Therefore, technology does have some negative impact, by making people addicted and providing a negative influence.

On the other hand, the progress in the kind of relationships people now have due to technology cannot be ignored. If it wasn’t for real-time communication via video or audio, couples living miles apart would have faced many difficulties. For example, it isn’t tedious to Skype call someone, have a conversation with them almost as if they are present with you. Moreover, technology has helped many couples find one another even when they didn’t reside in the same country. For instance, a girl in the USA found her soulmate in a boy, who was a citizen of the U.K. because they both were members of cat lovers group on Facebook.

In conclusion, technology has made some negative influence along with a few being addicted to it, but the impact it has created by aiding people to connect with people all around the globe and understand each other far outweighs its negatives.