Some people think that zoos are cruel and that all zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Should animals be held captive in zoos is often debatable? While some think that it can help in conserving endangered wild life, some, like me, believe that it is cruel.

On the one hand, while animals are well suited to their natural habitat, there are some that believe keeping them in a controlled environment like a zoo, could help preserve their species. Firstly, animals can be monitored and controlled in a cage thereby increasing their chances of survival. To illustrate, a rare species of monkey kept in a zoo can reproduce and multiply faster as they won’t be infected by diseases or hunted down by predators. Secondly, zoos can provide data about a particular animal near extinction and provide solutions to save them. For instance, Asiatic lions are nearing extinction and data provided by Indian zoos that studied them has helped authorities figure out ways to save those lions. Therefore, zoos might offer a way of protecting animals and increase their survival rate by studying them.

On the other hand, capturing animals is against their natural habitat and isn’t helpful. Confining animals to an enclosure induces unnecessary stress in them resulting in an unhealthy growth. For example, white tigers brought in zoos from the wild find it extremely difficult to adapt to their new surroundings and often die due to being in a restricted space. Moreover, if a counter argument is made like, subjecting humans to confinement one might instantly find it immoral and offensive. Being not empathetic to other creatures and showing empathy to only humans is unjust. Lastly, humans should co-exist with other life on the Earth and not try to coerce them. Hence, subjecting animals to cages is often stressful and unnatural to them and we must live on this planet together in harmony.

In conclusion, according to me, zoos might be a way to save animals, but they do more harm than good, hence, all zoos should be closed down. Letting animals live their life is the way of nature and we shouldn’t try to alter it.