News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Information is the new currency in this globalised era; hence accessing news easily is of prime significance to everyone. This fast paced generation has also lead to, opening of new horizons leading to many fearing the unknown. This in-turn helps bad news spread like wild-fire. Such scenarios have made many, myself included, to believe that a shift in focus towards good news is the need of the hour.

Connectivity has improved by leaps and bound nowadays, leading to increase in changes that affect peoples’ daily routine. This has made availability of information at the right time crucial. An example of this is the rapid policy changes taking place in the Indian financial markets that have created havoc for companies, as they are required to react quickly in order to be legally compliant. The way society reacts to news is the leading cause of the parabolic spread of negative media attention. Humans are more fearful than hopeful by nature; and this knowledge is used by content creators, to focus their attention on stories and events that would spread fast. Reports of rape, domestic violence, terrorism and drug addiction not only spread quickly, but also create a sense of fear in the society.

Although, this is the prevailing condition, changing our focus towards positive news will help us progress as a global society. There are so many minor achievements taking place every single day in every part of this planet, which are just not being heard. Providing a voice and audience for such feats will raise the hope in humanity. Moreover, this will aid in creating an energetic and purpose driven society.

In conclusion, even though we have been accustomed to consume and propagate negative information we can and should shift our focus on more positive developments as that will truly guide us towards the greater good.