Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Career prospects in the modern world have changed drastically, where today management expects their team to be available every day, holidays being no exception. While a few dedicated and satisfied employees find this a chance to showcase their abilities and talents, it is not everybody’s cup of tea to be completely involved in work outside office hours.

The employer expects his staff to get the work done within the stipulated time, as he expects his team to execute the task at hand. They try to extract their money’s worth from their employees. A logical extension of this is a boss expecting at least 2 million dollars in revenue when he is paying his head of Sales a million dollar salary. The primary reason for this is the cut throat competition in today’s world, not leaving much of choice in the hands of the people in-charge. This has in-turn lead to an environment where the team is expected to be available whenever needed.

Firstly, this arrangement reduces the management’s stress of finding the right people at all times, even if it comes at the cost of employees’ personal time. Research has already shown that such type of system is not only stressful for the employees, but also harmful for the employer in the long run as the attrition rate increases. Secondly, even though the team is paid to execute the work, it doesn’t mean that the boss owns all their time. Employees that are left to decide how to manage their work and spare time on their own, have shown much better productivity than a team that has been constantly bossed around. Lastly, overworked individual finds it demotivating to work for the same company as the time passes.

In conclusion, the disadvantages in expecting one’s staff to be in contact even during vacations and off work hours eclipse the advantages. Highly productive less stressful and employees emerge when they have independence on the timeline, in executing their job.