Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that the production of waste is in excess. Because of growing population and increased demand, the consumption of goods is getting increased. Almost everything comes with a packing and this is ultimately resulting a huge amount of garbage. To limit this excessive production of rubbish, government can play a very important role. In this essay, we will discuss a few points to highlight that why the waste production is growing and what government need to do to tame this.

Firstly, the main source of rubbish is from packaging of medium and large size items. These items are packed in various layers to protect being damage and also to look attractive. For instance, packaging of fridge, TV, washing machine etc. These items contributes a lot in waste building. According to me, government should enforce a law and limit the layers of material being used for packaging. If a single layer of plastic or cardboard is reduced, it will reduce a significant amount of wastage.

Secondly, there is a numerous amount of garbage being generated with the use of plastic covers. This is used by small retailers in-order to sell their products. Almost every item comes in a plastic cover. For instance, if we buy a vegetable, we will get a plastic cover with it, also if we purchase a bread, we get that in a plastic bag. These all plastic get accumulated and results a huge amount of garbage. I think government should impose a total ban on these plastic covers. We have seen a few cities where government has put total ban on these plastic bags and the city is comparatively much garbage free now.

To conclude, I think the main source of rubbish is from packaging of bulky items and also from the excessive use of plastic covers. Government should impose the strict laws to limit the use of material being used in wrapping the items and also to stop using plastic covers in small retailers shops.