Increase in the waste generation has affected our environment to a great extent. It is often argued that the amount of garbage produces is increasing day by day. This is due high use of non-degradable products and unnecessary buying of food products. To overcome this situation, government can enact green tax and also instill the citizens to recycle more.

With the increasing population size, more resources are utilized, and this leads to generation of huge amount of waste. Also, lifestyle play a major role in contributing to the waste generation. As today majority of people have a busy lifestyle, so during grocery shopping they tend to buy more food items than required, so to last them for a month. This practice have led to increase in the production of food waste to a great extent. A survey conducted by municipal corporation of Ahmedabad stated that 60% of waste produces included thrown away food items. This food otherwise could have been provided to the poor, but instead it ends up in the dump yard.

A serious action needs to e taken in order to avoid such waste generation. Government can start up a donation program, in which the unused food can be donated to the poor people of the country. For example, in Malaysia,a Food NGO was started in 2019, and this has resulted in 40% less production of their total waste. Also, government can help to provide recycle bins in every street, so by recycling products, the amount of garbage generated will decrease immensely. And, lastly government can pass a law of taxation on people who produce more waste and they shall be charged for their own actions.

In conclusion, waste generation is a really sensitive issue, resulting highly due to neglect of people towards food wastage. This needs to be regulated by government by organizing food donation camps and instilling people with recycling habits.