Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, the waste around the globe is surging at alarming rate and it has been an indispensable issue which needs to be tackled immediately. While the main causes are inevitable population growth and industrialization, the same can be taken care of if authorities provide proper waste management guidance and recycling methods.

The root cause behind this is and will be the continuous increase in populace and being solid waste a by-product of population, it will surely aggravate with time. To explicate it, there are around 8 billion inhabitants in the world and it is estimated it will cross 10 billion by 2050. Hence, the scientists and environmentalists have predicted the trash will also increase in million tons by then because of this populace rate. Moreover, because of the proliferation of industries, humans have gotten the habit of throw-away culture which means instead of repairing and reusing an old object, people tend to throw them in garbage and buy new. For instance, usages of plastic bags and disposable objects have escalated because humans prefer to use and throw rather than reusing things.

One preventive measure authorities can take to alleviate the burden on environment is by educating the general public about the hazardous impacts of colossal waste collection. Also, campaigns should be arranged to promote reusable bags so that the use of plastic bags can be curbed. Furthermore, state can run advertisements and free classes for people to teach the ways that a household can use to reduce the trash generation. Another step that the government can undertake is through sound recycling. Democrats should invest in technology that can be managed at municipal level to eradicate waste. To exemplify, Singapore government used a technology to stamp out garbage by dumping it in ocean and forming an island through it. Not to mention, it has least garbage percentage in the world. Such innovations are needed to solve this issue.

To conclude, it is a fact the human population will increase so as the solid waste. In order to control this, above mentioned steps need to be followed and adhered by government and public.