Some schools have restricted mobile phones? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary era, in majority of schools around the world, students have their own mobile phones. However, nowadays many institutions have banned phones in campus. While some argue that it is a negative development as phones are essential for our safety and being connected . I quibble from them and propound that this limitation would be fruitful in long run as it will increase the learning ability and social well-being among pupils.

Restricting mobile phones in classroom itself can improve the learning. This is simple, because of non availability of such devices, there will be less distraction for teachers and educates. For instance, it has been acknowledged by many teachers that once learners have a cell phone with them, they have this constant urge of checking texts or social media updates which ultimately distract them from their studies. If these gadgets are allowed in schools, these endless distractions will draw attention away from significant educational topics which will hamper their academic performance in long run. Therefore, a blanket ban on phone usage in school surely allows students to concentrate more on their education.

In addition to this, constraining phones in school premises will enhance the social and physical well-being of the school going children. To decipher it, whenever students have the free time, they tend to interact with each other and make friends. Due to this, their social circle expands. Moreover, in their games period they play physical games like football which ameliorate their health by burning calories and blood stimulation. To exemplify, schools that have banned the phones have more athletes and social clubs than those who don’t. This is because; when cell phones are permitted pupils will spend most of their time on it and play games on it than physical ones which will make them obese. Thus, to form a fit, active and social culture, restricting mobiles by educational institutions is a positive step.

To conclude, although mobile phones are the part of modern life, I personally believe banning them in schools will be a positive development because due to this students can learn better, strengthen their friendship and engage in healthy pursuit.