With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on more genetically modified foods.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Undoubtedly, from last few decades various leaders around the globe are encountering the issue of scarcity of food because of the up surging rate of population. While some believe that to tackle this problem genetically modified food will be best solution, others oppose it. In this essay, I will discuss both the merits and demerits of using genetic engineering on plants, however, I agree that tampering with the biology is nothing to be afraid of.

There are many, like me, who support the invasion of science in agriculture. The top-notch concrete advantage of this is the higher growth rate of staple crops. A GM crop, named golden rice has threefold the production of rice and is fortified with enormous amount of minerals which can not only provide essential nutrition but also can save lives in drought and famine affected regions because it has the ability to grow in extreme conditions too. If these proliferation are not allowed then how authorities can satisfy the demand of food of growing population.

Despite this, it does have some disadvantages. Primarily, it has catastrophic impacts on environment and food chain as to produce tamper yields, chemicals are needed which have harmful effect when released in atmosphere. Moreover, use of hormones and antibiotics in cattle farming will have detrimental impact on food chain. Apart from this, many scientists link such crops with autism and allergies. Due to this, people have formed the opinion that these are not good for health. Consequently, such disadvantages can not be ignored.

In conclusion, genetic changes in crops has both positives and negatives which are discussed above. however, this is a field which lacks long-term research and more exploration in this field should be welcomed.