Nowadays we see an increase in social problems involving teenagers. Many believe that it is because parents spend more time at work and less with their children. Do you agree or disagree.

In the recent years, the cost of living has increased drastically, owing to which it has become mandatory for parents to work for longer hours. Some people opine that, the key reason behind the upsurge in the number of social issues related to teenagers is that these parents are not able to spend enough time with their children. I completely agree with this opinion and in my essay I will support my views with examples.

Undoubtedly, parents nowadays are struggling hard to make the ends meet and to provide a better future to their children. But in the event of doing so, they are not able to pay proper attention to their wards. As a result, several times it is seen that there is nobody to correct their mistakes. Owing to which these kids are unable to judge between right and wrong behavior and eventually end up in acquiring a personality which is unacceptable by the society. To illustrate, these teenagers are often aggressive and short tempered. Having these characters, they are neglected by their community and consequently are forced to live a life of isolation.

Also, it is seen that these kids often fall prey to certain habits which lead them towards a disastrous life. As working parents spend most of their time in their workplace, there is no one to monitor these youngsters. Consequently, they get indulged in bad habits example drug addiction, smoking and alcoholism. These youths when introduced into the society, may get involved in unwanted altercations and ultimately may end up in legal actions against them. If parents spend adequate time with their children and understand their behavior, they may not get steeped into these undesired habits.

In conclusion, I strongly concur that parents’ proper attention towards their children plays a crucial role in their upbringing. If the parents do not spend enough time with them, they may become aggressive and may also get attracted towards detrimental habits.