The number of people working online from home has grown in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, in many countries, the majority of people working online has been increasing without actually going to their office. This trend has both positives and negatives for convenience as well as disturbances simultaneously.

Working online from home is beneficial as it is relaxing and convenient. First and foremost, it always provides flexible hours of work, where one can spend time in front of a computer according to their choices and priorities, which thereby give relaxation. Take Youtube bloggers, for instance, they feel the work-life comfortable and enjoyable as they can switch to work easily at home after accomplishing their household chores. Secondly, it is considered to be the easiest way of working because of less time wastage on daily commuting, yet it can be used in some productive work. Hence, the advantages of working from home cannot be deniable.

The two potential demerits of telecommunication are improper infrastructure and disturbances. As compared to the office, there is always a lack of resources at home, which, therefore makes a hassle in smooth working. Without proper cabins, people tend to use their bed while operating laptops, owing to which they might feel sleepy and lethargic after a short period. Even though sitting in a separate room, the environment of the house is not always quiet, which can cause disturbances. To illustrate, due to the sudden influx of guests, children, and the lack of standard official facilities at home, people cannot manage to work progressively. They have to procrastinate their task in between. Therefore, it is obvious that remote working is not easier every time.

In conclusion, the growing trend of telecommunication has some pros and cons. Although it provides ease and comfort at the homely atmosphere for work, yet the disadvantages such as limited sources, delay, and disturbance could not be ignored.