The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity among people are growing at an alarming rate, thereby putting pressure on the healthcare systems to overcome the problem. Therefore, many people assert that the introduction of physical education in the syllabus of students will be the better option to deal with the issue. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the viewpoint as children must have knowledge about their fitness and consequences of obesity.

Physical education in the curriculum can induce mental and physical well-being of students. A compulsory subject perhaps trigger the minds of children to participate in various sports activities, which would eventually enhances their fitness levels. Regular practice of these games will boost their health as well as mental power. According to an article published in The Guardian, children, who actively participated in their school sports ranging from basketball, football, and hockey have higher levels of fitness compared to those school students who take physical education as an optional subject. Therefore, a basic physical education is required for children to keep themselves heathy.

A subject of physical education includes comprehensive details of exercises and diseases caused by ill-health. In other words, students can not only learn about exercises and their steps but also grasp the knowledge of diseases related to bad immunity and health. With this, they got to know the repercussions of obesity, which is caused by an unhealthy diet and lesser physical workout. Take, schools of Finland, for instance, the educational ministry have included a compulsory physical education subject in the syllabus as their students were getting ill due to weight gain. Hence, a fitness subject has given them knowledge about healthcare benefits.

In conclusion, I believe that inauguration of a physical education course in the school curriculum should be necessary as it will provide the basic understanding to children about fitness and impacts of obesity on their body. Nevertheless, they will get proper education of health and fitness from their tender age.