Many people subscribe to the belief that educational institutions play a role more substantial than that of children’s parents in their intellectual and social upbringing. Personally, I tend to completely adhere to this viewpoint.

Supervised by pedagogical experts, children's cognitive skills grow as they participate in a variation of games and group studies. As pupils are frequently inquired to join a dazzling variety of groups in school, they are given the chance to experience taking up a number of diverse responsibilities in their little society; a golden opportunity which rarely comes up anywhere else. For instance, to be the captain of the basketball team or being the teacher's lab assistant are positions which can totally shape a child’s character.

On the other hand, adverse effects of being with peers which occasionally emerge Can take their toll on child's development. A fair share of people confesses being bullied at school and recall its drastic effects on their psyche and behavior to be long-lasting and difficult to deal with, regardless of their parents’ support and consolation. Moreover, positive results of peer pressure should also be taken into account when debating school’school's influence on children's intellectual and social behavior blooming. A number of credible researches have claimed the role of parental guidance to be less than 20 percent in shaping an individual’s character, while indicating this percentage for siblings and peers to be, more or less, 80.

In conclusion, the role of schools has proven to be of paramount significance in cultivating social and intellectual aspects of children, while parents’ influence, although substantial, can still not be considered as pivotal.