One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Many major cities and large towns are facing with drastic increase in myriad of vehicles getting on to the roads leading to traffic blocks. This essay with discuss both the problem and solutions in order to reduce the traffic congestion.

One of the recent main causes for the amount of traffic to increase is that, huge number of youngsters are migrating from small village to the metros for earning. Eventually this will lead to increase flow of vehicles onto the roads ending up in dense traffic congestion. Since the city is not planned to accommodate these huge number of vehicles the roads get crowded because it is not wide enough. For instance, Bangalore was not an IT hub couple of years back, and it needed only smaller roads, but since the IT boom happened in the city humongous number of people moved to the metro and finally every road now in the garden city is filled with vehicles. The alarming fact is that each day many more vehicles keep adding and this situation can worsen if necessary, steps are not taken.

It is important that the governments assess these conditions and make required measure to reduce the traffic. One imperative solution for this is to introduction good public transport system which ought to be well connected and frequency of connectivity. For example, I had recently visited Kochi and was stunned to see how drastically the city had eliminated the traffic on the road. Since the introduction of metro rail an exponential number of people are using public transport and resulted in lesser vehicles on roads and resulting in congestion free roads.

To conclude, if good public conveyance is available people sill chose to use them, rather than spending hours to just commute few kilometers. Lesser cars on road and better planning of roads can make commuting a stress free. Indeed, there are even more benefits such as lesser pollution, savings in fuel consumption, and so on.