More and more people are opting for ready made food instead of freshly cooked food. Do this development has more advantage over disadvantage.

There has been immense change in the food habits among our society. A few people feel that packed foods are more beneficial over freshly cooked foods. In my opinion there are more disadvantage in consuming ready-made foods over fresh food.

On one hand, ready-made food market is expanding at an alarming rate, along with the rate of unhealthy individuals too. Copious of these packed foods contains preservatives for food to stay non perishable for many days. Moreover, these preservatives are some form of hazardous chemicals the people consume of regular basis. For instance, a NGO recently tested a few sample of packed foods to check the ingredients and the results were shocking. It was found that most of these products contained sodium nitrate which is a major cancer causing element. Since, the foods have to maintain their freshness and flavors these are added to foods. Indeed, today the major reason for witnessing a rise in cancer patients are because of their unhealthy food habits.

On the other hand, we can ensure that we do not consume any harmful chemicals when we cook ourselves. It is found that people who consume fresh cooked vegetables and fruits lead a healthy and peaceful life. For example, in a recent survey by a leading fitness magazine it was found that 30% of people who cooked their own meals which contained fresh vegetable and meat maintained a healthy heart and other parameter of health, issues such as sugar, blood pressure were normal. Furthermore, a person can count the intake of calories that are required on daily basis and can cook accordingly, whereas a packed food will contain more calories.

To conclude, time is saved by consuming packed foods, but over the loss of one's health. Health is wealth, and nothing is imperative than this.Therefore, freshly cooked food have more advantage over consuming packed foods.