Online shopping is increasing significantly. What effects might this have on the environment and the types of jobs that are required?

In recent years, it is irrefutable that online shopping has become more popular than ever. This trend may have positive impacts on the environment and employment types in the short run, however, its drawbacks may overcome its benefits in the long run. This essay will explain the negative effects of online shopping on the environment and employment patterns.

Firstly, online shopping increases environmental damages due to the large number of fossils that are burned to deliver online orders within and across countries. As a result, Gas such as Green House gas is emitted into the atmosphere. To illustrate, in the case of a large company like Amazon, orders are driven or flown across countries to their centers to be available for next day deliveries. Consequently, these deliveries to the final consumers require further burning of fossils. The net impact on the environment is self-evidently massive which fastens environmental damage. Secondly, excess packaging as required by online shopping contributes majorly to environmental damages. For instance, a recent research conducted by Walmart shows that, on an average, the e-commerce channel produces more textile waste per item due to multiple deliveries.

On the other hand, regarding the effects of online shopping on the types of job required, more employment opportunities like online shopper assistants, delivery drivers and website designers are steadily on the rise. Superstores owners are constantly losing sales and business to the growing popularity of online stores thereby creating thousands of unemployment. Therefore, looking into the future, we see a situation in which the number of unemployed superstore owners will exceed the number of job openings that are created by the rapid development of online shops, hence a higher level of unemployment.

In conclusion, although, there are short term benefits of online shopping like convenience and ease, the negative effects might overshadow these benefits in the long term.