One long-distance flight consumes fuel which a car consumes in several years, but they cause the same amount of pollution. Some people think we should discourage nonessential flights, such as tourist travel, rather than limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that long-distance flights consume more fuel than cars do in several years, however, they discharge the same amount of pollution. While some people think that we should discontinue air travel to reduce the amount of pollution rather than limit the use of cars, I strongly disagree that it is the ideal solution.

Undoubtedly, flights consume a huge amount of fuel when compared to cars, but nowadays, we have an enormous number of cars on the roads. Over the last half-century, cars have gradually become more affordable that people can easily save up to acquire one. Therefore, on average, we have way more cars than non-essential flights causing almost the same amount of pollution. At the same time, the discontinuation of tour travels will negatively impact the tourism sector which is a major contributor to the global economy. A recent study published in Nigeria states that the tourism sector accounts for more than 30% of the Nigerian economy, hence, discontinuing non-essential flights will only create new problems.

Furthermore, there is evidence that waste gas from cars and non-essential flights are not the leading cause of environmental pollution. The main culprits are the industrial wastes from rapidly growing factories. Therefore, discouraging non-essential flights or limiting the use of cars will not suddenly give us blue skies and fresh air. We could tackle these environmental problems by developing strict controls around the discharge of waste and the use of environmentally friendly resources in production processes.

To sum up, it can be seen that the cons of discontinuing non-essential flights outweigh the pros, hence I am strongly against the idea. Scientists and the government can search for cleaner energy sources like nuclear and solar energy to replace fuel and prevent the situation from deteriorating further through mobility innovations and renewable energy solutions.