Some people think young people should go to university to further their education while others think they should be encouraged to work as car mechanics or builders etc. to serve society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has always been a controversial topic over whether young people should attend the university to advance their education or work as car mechanics or builders etc to serve the society. I believe that young people should pursue higher education rather than leave school early to work. This essay will extensively discuss both views and my opinion.

To start with, it is extremely beneficial for young people to further their education as it is a major requirement to enjoy highly skilled jobs and earn good salaries. Not only does it benefit young people, it also contributes to the development of the society. The university’s curriculum contains subjects that spread across all job skills and are key to acquiring advanced knowledge ranging from mechanical engineering to architecture, etc. For example, a team of students at University of Lagos, Nigeria were able to create an app called Opay in 2014. It is the most convenient app to get a quick ride to anywhere in the country from anywhere you are at affordable price. Therefore, it consequently reduces the number of people stuck at the bus stop.

On the other hand, young people who leave school to work as car mechanics or builders acquire work experience early. They become professionals and attain job security on the long run. Their skills are acquired through apprenticeship and on the job training. The Nigerian labour market reflects scarcity of these jobs because young people believe that they are not well paid jobs. Hence, they skew towards highly skilled jobs. If this trend continues, demand for these skilled jobs will exceed supply, thereby inflating the cost of hiring these skills. So, if young people are encouraged to tour this path, we can avoid the aforementioned problem for society.

To conclude, while jobs like car mechanics or builders are paramount for society to function, I opine that it is important for young people to attend University for expanding their learning capacity and attaining well-paid jobs.