Some people think that young people should go to university to further their education while others think they should be encouraged to work as car mechanics or builders etc.to serve society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the last few years it has been seen that the role of education has become very intertwined with the lives of young adults. While some believe that adolescents should pursue higher studies others argue that they should help build the society by taking up jobs such as construction workers, car mechanics and the likes. I agree with the former completely and will emphasize my opinion through examples.

Firstly, when young people take up hands-on jobs at an early age, they start to learn by working. The ability to learn how to do a job is best learnt by doing it. By starting off in their early years, youngsters spend more time gaining experience about a job. For example, my cousin is the best plumber in town. This is because he started doing it at a ripe age of 18 years. Furthermore young people the society by adding to its GDP. This is because young people start earning early in life and thus start contributing financially for a longer duration compared to others who start later.

That being said, education empowers young people to go after better job opportunities and also solve society's complex problems. Education has been a platform where one can improve their knowledge. This knowledge acts as an essential tool for them to go after high paying jobs that not only improve their financial status but also give them the opportunity to take on problems that have been plaguing the world for decades. For example, a study conducted by the education department of the state of Arizona showed that students who pursue their academics further added 30% more GDP in comparison to the average citizen. Also they were responsible for solving 90% of the problems in the fields of science and business.

To summarize, although working at an earlier age would help younger people in terms of experience and finance, it is my opinion that young people will contribute more to themselves and the society by pursuing their higher academics, since it will help them get strong financially and fix the bigger issues of the world.