Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Cars have become an integral part of our daily lives. Over the past 3 decades it has become obvious that many metropolitan hubs around the world have become plagued by a gridlock cars. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay will proceed to elaborate my point of view discussing the various problems and possible solutions for them.

Firstly, the number of cars per household is more than one. To elaborate, many families living in the cities own more than one car resulting in many cars on the streets. This increases the probability of traffic jams. For example, a census conducted by the traffic department of the state of Florida showed that the average number of cars per family living in the city was between 3 to 4, which suggests that every house had 3 to 4 cars on the road when the day began. To snub the problem at its root, the government should pass a law whereby a household can only own a maximum of 2 cars, thus bringing down the traffic density by a huge percentage. In the case of Florida it would be 33%.

Secondly, the number of traffic jams have increased significantly at prime business locations during peak hours. That is, at city centers where the hustle and bustle of daily life occurs; the number of cars have significantly increased during rush hours. Consequently, the roads of such center have been devoured by these four wheeled monstrosities. For example, a statistic released by google maps showed that the average time per mile during peak hours was a whopping 15 minutes. In contrast the average time per mile during non-peak hours was just under 3 minutes. This dilemma can be resolved if companies encourage their employees to carpool to and from work. Further more they can take it up a notch by providing benefits to those employees who actively participate in carpooling, as a result minimizing peak hour traffic.

To conclude, traffic jams have become a common sight in many cities especially due to increasing number of cars per household and high traffic density during peak hours at city centers. Such problems can be addressed by the government by passing laws that restrict the number of automobiles owned per household and by companies by encouraging carpooling to work.