The online shopping will one day lead to all shops in town and cities close. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, there has been mushroom growth in Internet shopping around the world. Some people argue that the traditional stores in large town will go out of business due to increased in popularity of online shops. This essay will discuss that despite of the advantages of online shopping, conventional market will still remain in business.

On the one hand, many people hold opinion that a large number of stores and markets of a town will completely substituted by online marts and shops. The mainstay of this belief is that shopping through Internet is a good alternative to traditional shopping for some consumers because of it provides facilitation and convenience. Furthermore, it saves people from lengthy commute and provides them ample opportunities to carry out leisure activities. Consequently, if majority of shoppers prefer to buy their commodities online, eventually the retailers will shut down. For instance, 95% Australian super markets are running online shops which are delivering goods at turnaround of 24 hours.

Nonetheless, these arguments do not stand up to scrutiny in my opinion. Due to obvious reasons that certain demographic of society is still apprehensive about the trend of e –shopping because of recent increase in the frauds of buying goods from different websites and internet applications. In other words, products on Internet might be vibrant and flashy although, their functionality in real is over stated in online adverts. Thus, many buyers prefer to shop from departmental stores rather than online. For example, there have been several instances recorded when buyers express their dissatisfaction on the quality of products that have been bought from online store. As a result, many consumers are still fascinated towards traditional style of shopping and consider it a pleasurable experience, as do not want to compromise for a faulty and substandard product.

In conclusion, although online shopping offers convenience and comfort, yet it cannot completely replaced the business of conventional stores because of the bolstered fears among consumers from the online fraud.