the only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. What extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought holds that imposing harsh punishments for traffic-related crimes is the sole method to enhance the safe road. From my perspective, I disagree with this notion for the reason outlined. While it is believed that there are a plethora of efficient ways that can improve the safety of our roads.

On the one hand, stringent punishments for driving offenses is indeed of the essence. The key rationale in favor of this view is that penalties for dangerous drivers are able to help road enhancement. There is no point denying that the range of punishments for traffic lawbreakers act as a deterrent to avoid repeating similar crimes. Prime example, these motorists drive without their helmets being fined a certain amount of money from a million to 2 millions dong, this sanction might create a feeling of fear of penalization, leading to more likely to not violate the law. In fact, the vast majority of traffic casualties occur due to drivers not seriously following the traffic rules. Therefore, the punishments stricter for irresponsible drivers are a reasonable way to decrease traffic accidents.

However, I am convinced that it is far better methods for driving offences to improve the safety of our roads. Firstly, The government needs to raise the residentials’ awareness about the dangers of aggressive driving and a flurry of behaviors causing other traffic accidents such as run a red light, drink-driving or hit and run. These actions can be mentioned before issuance of the licence in order for citizens to be fully aware of them and visualize their consequences. Secondly, the authorities and locals can diminish the traffic casualties by investing in transportation infrastructures. It means that the fewer citizens travelling by automobiles, the more ones use public transportation such as buses or trains, hence contributing to safe road maintenance.

In conclusion, while some people believe that enacting stricter punishments for dangerous drivers is the only option to make safer roads. I am convinced that there are several methods that can be better.