In order to study at the university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free to everyone.

To what extend do you agree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Fees for higher education are expensive and not affordable for everyone so according to some university should be free for all people regardless of their background. In my opinion, I agree that university education ought to be free as it will greatly benefit both individuals and the society.

A good reason to abolish university fees is that it gives people whether they are rich or poor equal rights. At present, students from poor background are prevented from entering university because they are unable to afford the fees. This excludes large proportion of society and is discriminatory which can be avoided by getting rid of tuition fees.

Another point to consider is that having no fees at the university means that students will no longer have to work at the same time as studying to cover their costs. For example, around three quarters of all students in the UK have to work either full-time or part-time while studying at the university to pay their fees. Free higher education should, therefore, produce better results as students will be able afford to apply themselves to their studies exclusively.

Finally, free education will benefit society in the long run, for the simple reason that it will open up higher education to a wider section of the population. This will result in increasing the number of educated people. In other words, having a greater resource of skilled and knowledgeable professionals will bring greater rewards to the society as a whole. Moreover, it can bring more economic advantages to a country that shows itself to be prosperous and leading in various fields.

In conclusion, free university education is a must for any country that values equal rights and one that wishes to advance. The cost of free education will be recouped many times over be the benefit it brings.