Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

The biggest problem in urban areas around the globe is overpopulation. The major causes of this are industrialization and services or facilities which are easily available in that areas and the probable solution is that government should have to stop allotting land to new industries into cities and provide them a land in rural areas.

The main causes of overpopulation in urban cities is because of more and more companies have their offices there, so all people moved there from their areas to that city to get an employment. Because of most people are living there, so all the emergency services they can get very easily so they also do not want to leave that area. For example, University of London research report states that 70 percent of people in urban centers are from nearby rural areas and they are living there because of more employment opportunity and good services available in nearby.

The Solution of this problem is government should take initiative that they should avoid establishing new industries and company headquarters in major cities, so that population can diverted to villages or in small cities. Law enforcement agencies should add new law for multinational companies that they can only start their new businesses in the cities which are not population centric. They can start a campaign too to spread an awareness regarding overpopulation. For instance, a similar initiative in 2009, started by China in Beijing resulted a 30 percent decrease in population after 2009.

In conclusion, more employment opportunities and business establishment are the causes of the overpopulation and this problem can be solved if government took steps to divert that population into other areas of their country.