Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

There is no denying the fact that cars have impacted our lives to a great extent. Some people argue that cars have more demerits as compared to its merits. This essay will discuss my agreement to this fact and examine both the advantages and disadvantages of owning a car.

The first advantage of having cars is one can save huge amount of time instead of opting for public transport. As the individual is not time-bound, it helps him to plan journey according to his need. Another advantage of cars is the comfort it provides. It is irrefutable that the cars seats are more comfortable as compared to the other transport options available. Even if we need rest, we can sleep in our cars. According to a recent survey published in The Daily Post, published on 27 March, car sale values have risen by 67% globally, depicting that people prefer buying their own car in order to save time and drive at their own ease.

On the flip side, easy availability of cars has made people lethargic, which indirectly has made them physically unfit. People prefer to cover short distances over car, whereas on the contrary, in older days, they used to walk long distances which helped them remain healthy. This fact was proven by the reports published by National Forensic Lab, in 2019, showcasing the decrease in the health levels due to more usage of cars in daily life. Moreover, car is not the luxury that everyone can afford. People end up paying unbelievable amount of loans just to meet the expense of this commodity. As per the study by Indian Tax committee, 34% people in India have failed to clear their loan and have fallen in debt. Thus, cars have not only made people unfit, but also buried them under debts.

To conclude, I agree that despite the fact that cars have benefits like saving one’s precious time and providing comfort, we cannot ignore its drawbacks such as health issues and the high purchasing cost.