The ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last decade, the number of cars is increased tremendously in most of the cities around the world. It has created a burden on the authorities to control the traffic and other environmental side effects created by this sudden surge in cars. This essay totally agrees that government should implement “one car one family policy and suggests that public transport should be enhanced to attract masses.

Firstly, more cars on the roads will create more traffic resulting in congestions and road blocks. Also, motorcars produce dangerous gasses that are very harmful to human beings. A recent study by World Health Organisation revealed that the air quality, in the big cities around the world, is not in healthy index for public. As a result, people living in these locations are in danger of catching chest and lungs diseases. So, laws should be introduced to decrease personal cars to control gasses that pollute and contaminate the air.

Secondly, it is observed that people like to drive big cars. It can be noticed that one person will be riding in SUV that can carry seven people. When multiple people will drive these big cars, it will create pressure on existing roads network. As a result, people will take hours to cover small distances. One car one family will force siblings to use single vehicle or to use public transport. So, the rush on the roads will be decreased.

On the other hand, it is right of a human to use any facility the way he likes. For example, if a family can afford multiple cars, they should be allowed to have as many as they like. Governments should find other ways to reduce pollution and should expand roads.

In conclusion, laws should be created to bar families to purchase more than one car. They should be educated about the side effects on the environment. It is also suggested that more focus should be done on public transport.