Parents want to achieve balance between family and career but only a few manage to achieve it. What do you think is the reason? Discuss possible solution and provide example?

The cost of living has increasingly risen in recent years. So couples would need to make more effort to make more money to ease their situation. As a result, most of them haven’t found a chance to make work-life balance. In fact, few parents would find how to tackle this solution. In this essay, I will outline why expenses and the nature of work impact on people’s life. There after I provide practical solution for alleviating this problem for families.

The most concern of families, nowadays, are expenses. Although food, education, healthcare have become more accessible, it is still not affordable for the majority. Higher Education is not free in many countries. In fact, more people tend to get a higher degree to boost their chance in the market. Even if, in some countries, the student could obtain a loan from the government, but it is not available for everybody. If a student has some certain of qualification, then it will be eligible for the scholarship. For instance, one college student needs to pay 8000 Canadian dollars annually to register in college, which is a considerable amount for the average family. So this reason cause that parents work hard to facilitate their children life, particularly education cost.

The second reason which makes impossible for the people to smooth their work and life accordingly is the nature of work. If people work in the construction industry, it would need to work at the project site, which is usually far from the cities. Or, if they work as a maintenance technician, they need to be available twenty-four hours because the employer needs them if an emergency happened. So that they sell their time to the owner of the company. Thereby, they haven’t had a right to leave their work whenever they want. As a result, it is meaningless for them to have a life with the family, and sadly, they marry with their job.

However, the internet has changed the nature of job drastically. There are numerous ways provided by this technology. For instance, online shopping become popular among people, especially the young generation. Internet leads people to find a solution to sell their product or services throughout the web. As a matter of fact, the government also put a lot of investment to make a digital city for their inhabitants. So, it seems to be that the internet could resolve the issue for people’s who are interested in more freedom.

In sum, the cost of living, and the traditional ways of working are the facts which people understand. So they still struggle to find a way to balance their time. By the way, the internet has raised a lot of opportunity for people who would like to take up this opportunity and shift their fixed work time to more flexible hours which they give them more freedom to spend their time with families.