In Today's world, Manual skills like designing own clothes or repairing household items are degrading. In fact, in some countries, these skills are started diminishing. Do you think thi is a good sign going forward? Let us discuss the reasons for the downfall in these skillsets. There is no denying, it goes 100 % true for my country, India as well.

First of all, Earlier both, husband and wife were not working, it was husband in most of the cases, Hence people used to get enough time to learn and do household related activities, Resulting in doing the work on their own. For example, my grandmother was a housewife, thus she used to make clothes for her sons like undergarments, woollen sweaters and scarfs.

Secondly, Nowadays, people are earning more, so they afford cheap labour having these skills instead of trying it to get it done by themselves, As a result, they reduce their chance of learning it. For instance, whenever any fan or pipe needs repairing, I simply call plumber or electrician rather than doing it by myself.

Thirdly, people are not required to do these task manually because of new high tech machines doing it fast and accurately, which results in involvement of machines, not the humans. Let us take an example, my mother learned to make soft toys in her shcool but she always preferred to buy it for me from the shop. Though she wanted to make it up for me, However, she did not due to lack of time. Thus people opt for easy and fast options for these activities.

To conclude, Although manual work has reduced, we are getting our work done fast and easily. However, we should take out time to perform these little tasks, not to earn money but just to be less dependent on others.