People in community now could buy cheaper consumer goods. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, consumers are able to provide their routine needs with a wider range of possibility. Although there are some benefits could be seen in economic situation, I believe drawbacks of this growing trend are more significant.

There is always a balance between supply and demand in market. By decreasing the fixed price of some products, increase in the request value is an obvious result. This trend could be beneficial for society in terms of providing more job opportunity for job seekers, causing industries to improve their product’s process to fulfill consumer’s desires. Furthermore, with regards to lower price, low budget people will be attracted to purchasing products even in large scale and it could lead to fostering the general prosperity of a country’s economy. However, all these mentioned benefits cannot overshadow the disadvantages.

In many countries, especially developing ones, whenever demanding for products risen enormously, their quality will dropped after a while. With regard to growing pattern of decreasing prices, the matter of price comes forward more than before and profit will become a primary concern for businesses. So, local products, due to their higher quality and total cost, would face with an unfair competition with importation stuffs, such as Chinese products all around the globe which cause lots of trouble for local industries. As a result, they forced to lessen their quality to stay at market and after a short time, people will gradually lose their trust on domestic manufacturer. In addition, by growing consumerism behavior in society, the amount of wastes will rising enormously, such expansion would have grave side effects to environment.

In overall, although providing low price merchandises could be fruitful at first glance, it has some long lasting drawbacks which could be a significant treat for all society members.