In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

Recently the phenomenon of using credit cards instead of cash and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that using electronic payment is highly rewarding, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I highly inclined to believe that electronic methods could be beneficial and this essay will examine both sides by providing academic evidence before concluding.

On the one hand, from financial and economic standpoint, using e-payment can bring many noticeable benefits to the society which rooted in increasing security in trade. Furthermore, with regard to the international banking system, using debit and credit cards could be a suitable replacement for cash. According to an academic research conducted by Melbourne University, online shopping could decrease traffic jam and save more times for people which conclusively lead to reducing air pollution. Thus, beneficial ramifications both socially and environmentally can be seen.

On the other hand, some opponents stand against the idea of using online payment services. They using a valid logic to support their argument about unsecured credit card systems which related to some electronic attacks happen time by time through the Internet. Moreover, due to some technical survey that taking part by a prestigious financial institution in 2016, cyber-attack has become a serious issue during these days which could lead to financial collapse for many businesses or even ordinary people as an investor. Yet, with technological advancements, these threats could have lessened every day.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that using credit systems instead of cash could be beneficial and its advantages far outweigh its drawbacks. However, governments should have risen the public awareness about possible dangers and frauds which may happen to them.