What is the best invention of last 100 years, the computer, antibiotics, the airplane, and explain why?

Recently, the phenomenon of best invention in last century and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although the invention of the computer could be seen as an important one, such issue is regarded thoroughly both positive and constructive by substantial numbers of individuals. I profoundly believe that while the invention of antibiotics and the airplane can be significant, the major role of the computer cannot be overestimated, and this essay will examine both sides of this view by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

On the one hand, the computer has many beneficial impacts in our recent worlds. Firstly, it could lead to many innovative and creative inventions which could not be built without new knowledge. Secondly, using the computer systems has a major role in reducing traffic jam and the amount of CO2 emission and greenhouse gases. Finally, according to an academic survey conducted by Tehran University, many fields of medical and mechanics are now influenced by the invention of computers which lead to speed up many other advancements.

On the other hands, many opponents argued that the invention of antibiotics and the airplane could be assumed as major inventions. They use a valid logic to support their idea about the beneficiary impacts of these two inventions. Moreover, they presented some academic evidence to back their idea up about the usefulness of antibiotics to save thousands of lives of people every day. However, with regards to these days’ technology, the role of computer invention in the advancement of airplane development could not be ignored easily.

To conclude, although many support the idea about the importance of the invention of the airplane and antibiotics as major inventions of this century, I highly inclined to believe that, without computer invention, none of these technological progressions could be possible.