People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individually and on society?

It is true that number of sleeping hours has been continuously reducing in numerous nations. There are various factors which lead to this problem of insomnia and it is going to have myriads of detrimental effect on both people and community.

The predominant reasons for this decrease in bedtime is lack of physical activities and work pressure. People these days are living sedentary life, they are spending whole day by doing the monotonous job and setting in the front of computers.In addition, all the household tasks are also easily done by machines, so unlike yesteryear masses are less involved in manual works. For example, washing clothes and utensils can be conveniently done on electronic devices. Moreover, young people also spend their leisure time on virtual devices, like on their smart phones, either they are busy in playing games on devices, or they are busy on social networking sites. Whereas in ancient era, children and teenagers both play outdoor games. If a person's body is tired than only, one can take the sound sleep and able to relax completely but, in present mind is more tired, while compared to body, which is leading to stress and ultimately causes to lack of sleep. In this competitive era every job is demanding and every person is working under pressure, which lead to tension and increased stress on mind.Therefore, less body movements and long working hours leads to sleeplessness among people.

The major repercussions of this decreased sleeping hours will be development of health problems and lack of social life. Lack of sound sleep causes negative effect on mind and body. If a person does not sleep properly, his body will not be able to rejuvenate and cells will not function properly. Concentration power will decrease, mood swing will be there and he will not be performance any task with whole mind and brain, which will lead to lower outcomes from any work which he perform. In long run this will hamper nations growth, because economy will stagnate if citizens will not perform their job well. Apart from this, person who sleep less, get irritated on minor things and issues, which will have adverse impact on his social life, because nobody likes to be around unhappy people. People who are no able to interact with the society, feel isolated and get on depression easily. This will also cause harm to be community around because world will be better place if people live in harmony and love. Hence, this change in sleeping patterns will have vital impact on both people and society.

In conclusion, health is the greatest wealth a person can have, due to change in the ways of life and demanding jobs, people are not able to sleep properly and undoubtedly it harming a lot and hampering the growth of the nation and its citizens.