People think that children nowadays have more freedom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, children whether have more opportunities to chose whatever they want or not has evolved a controversial topic. While some people claim that nowadays children have more right to decide than ever, I strongly believe that it is under controlled seriously than their parent were.

Obviously, it is apparent that children have been giving more levels of autonomy with regard to friends and clothes choice. In terms of friends, children may be authorized to chose whatever their friends to accompany with regardless of their different background. It is uncommon in the pass when the majority of wealthy parents only permitted their children to play or communicate with those coming from the same privileged class. Additionally, today these stereotypes in the past about which clothes children wear are likely to be faded. It is common that the young girls could dress menswear, which was never case in parent’s generation.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that parents may get involve intensively in their decision about their study and career. Take Viet Nam as an obvious example. Nowadays, each family only has one to two children hence they are all hope and pride of their parents. Many parents would prefer their children to be more outstanding than their peers in current context of harsh competition even in the primary school. They force their children to take extra classes, tutorials after exhausted period at school. Consequently, the young generation today meet heavy burden of study and lack of time to rest and sleep much less playing. There are many regrettable suicide cases reported because of depression and pressure. Another visible reason for my belief is that children nowadays may be under overprotected by their parents. In ever-increasing crimes society, many parents rarely allow their children to play outdoor activities comfortably without their supervision. They guard their children from possible harm by strict curfew and restrictions, but this practice may lead to curtail their freedom inherently.

In conclusion, although nowadays children more make their own choice than in the pass, I personally agree that they are under controlled by their parent about their education and career path choice.