People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other

vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

For a long period of time, it has been acknowledged that the perfumes exhausted from vehicles are a main threat to the environment, especially the air quality. In order to tackle the environmental issue, many people suggest that it is vital for the government to increase the cost of fuel for vehicles. In my opinion, this is likely to be an effective measure.

To begin with, an increase in the price of fuel would discourage people’s intentions to purchase and use cars. Take Vietnam, a country where people use private vehicles frequently, for example. In the early 2010s, a modest rise of 10% in the cost of gasoline resulted in a significant decrease in the amount of traffic in the metropolitans, consequently improving the air quality. This indicates the effectiveness of the regulation in fuel cost made by the government. Hopefully, by adopting this method globally, the issue of air pollution would be addressed successfully.

Secondly, this regulation would force the car manufacturers to come up with new innovative technology that aims to protect the environment. This is attributed to the fact that old car models that are not energy-efficient would be abandoned by the majority of customers, making manufacturing companies to lose the market. With the rapid development of car engines, the amount of toxic gases released to the atmosphere would be reduced substantially. Furthermore, as cars consume less fuel, the issue of fossil fuel depletion would also be relieved.

In conclusion, I believe that raising the cost of fuel can benefit the environment in various ways. If this measure is carried out by many countries in the world, the environmental pollution, one of the most alarming problems, would be solved.