People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion

It is widely believed that the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles should be increased by the authorities to address the environmental issues. While this policy might have a positive impact on the environment, I would argue other measures could have greater effects.

On the one hand, the measure of rising the fuel cost for private vehicles could bring enormous advantages. Firstly, the number of people using personal cars would be limited due to the high cost of fuel. As a result, the exhausted fumes emitted from these vehicles could be declined, thereby reducing the greenhouse effect. Secondly, the increased cost of fuel could be used for expanding and developing the public transport infrastructure as numerous people are still in need for travelling to different places.

On the other hand, while the rising cost of fuel gas might be only a stopgap measure, there are several solutions to solve environmental problems in long term. To be more specifically, the local authorities could offer free bus and train tickets to encourage people to use public transport. London transport system, for instance, has introduced the congestion charges for people visiting the city center. Therefore, these new policies may also have similar impact like the increased cost of fuel, that is, to cut down on emissions as fewer people use private vehicles.

In conclusion, despite the fact that increasing the cost of fuel for personal vehicles could be the environmentally-friendly policy, other measures might be effective in addressing the environmental issues in the longer term.