Plastic bags, bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The environment has been damaged by human-produced plastic products such as bottles, bags, and packaging. All the ecosystems on the Earth are becoming polluted. It is threatening the survival of aquatic and terrestrial animals and plants. There are vast solutions for this phenomenon which the governments and individuals can do.

Plastic waste contaminates the environment progressively and puts its inhabitants in danger of extinction. Traditionally, human beings have been disposing of their garbage in a place far away from their residing area; that was not an issue unless plastics arose. These kinds of materials are not to dissolve in nature, so by increasing the usage of plastics, our environment plays the role of a huge bin which never goes empty. Creatures other than humans are now trying to survive in a dangerous place armed with brutal traps. Various reports show birds or smaller animals are dying of plastic foreign body ingestion. Sea creatures are trapped in a bottle or bag, waiting for their death. Simultaneously, plants are becoming less populated because they are primarily dependent on other animals suffering from pollution to start their reproduction cycle. This crucial issue could be addressed partially by some efforts from the governments and individuals.

There are two approaches to decrease the side effects of plastics on the environment, reducing plastic distribution and collecting accumulated ones from oceans and onshore areas. The governments can set rules to reduce using plastics. Putting a tax on sellers and retailers could make them lower the usage of plastic bags and packaging and raise the price of these items to make customers use baskets rather than plastic bags, such as what happened in the UK a couple of years ago, and also, use less processed foods which require packaging. On the other hand, individuals can make use of bottles in different ways to reduce waste. Joining NGOs specializing in environmental issues is a practical way to clean the environment from harmful garbage. Happy to say, these kinds of voluntary works are becoming more trending today, and everyone could do the duty of protecting the Earth and its inhabitants to some extent.

I believe plastic-made wastes irreversibly influence the whole ecosystem by putting the creatures in danger of extinction. I think it should be a global concern for both people and governments to immediately apply some solutions to this issue.