Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and with relevant evidence.

Nowadays sports is gaining popularity around the globe. it is also being used as an important medium to ease tensions between enemy nations and bring out patriotic emotions in a safer way from both the sides. In the below paragraphs I will share my experience and elucidate to justify this statement.

As we are moving towards an era of globalization international events like the football world cup and cricket are gaining immense popularity. These events give countries opportunities to showcase not only their talent but also have recently become an ideal platform to ease international tensions whereby friendly matches of football or cricket are being used as a catalyst when many diplomatic measures fail to break the ice. As these international events especially football world cup have global coverage and the wider impact on the audience.

In the recent past, football and cricket matches between India and Pakistan have helped to avoided military confrontation and bring peace several times. On the other hand, similar examples can be taken into account where international sports events have helped arch enemies like South Korea and North Korea to improve diplomatic relationships and opened a channel for dialogue.

Since these sports competitions have huge following globally and it gives public on both the sides an opportunity to showcase their patriotic feelings and vent their anger on social media platforms like Twitter, Facebook which is considered much safer.

Hence considering the above facts and examples it is evident that sports have become an important means in bringing peace and bettering relationships between the countries.