Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

History has proved that people from each country had always been looking for some ways to response their patriotic emotions. So Over different eras, various ways have been taken to show these feelings. But these days, international sporting matches are considered as the best occasions for mentioned purpose besides their deep effects on improving international tensions.

Obviously, no one can ignore that has no emotion about his country and traditions. Perhaps there is something in human nature which has encouraged him to show his interest of his culture to other nations. This tendency was one of the main reasons for many wars in the past when two nations fought each other to show their abilities and powers. But over last several decades, sporting matches has replaced those wars and people consider their nation sports team’s members as their country soldiers. In other words, people protect and encourage their national sports teams to win the match and by this way, they response to their patriotic emotions.

However some international sporting festivals such as football world cup have become very popular occasions to satisfy mentioned instinct, they have had undeniable effects on international tensions. For example, during a football match between two nations, people from other countries obtain suitable information about those cultures, traditional and religious. Hence, it helps governments to have a proper background from each other. So it directly affects international relations and in most of the cases makes a potential for countries to be more closed.