In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a negative or positive development?

As we see more organized retail setups in the form of mammoth shopping complexes and malls, consumers are attracted to the wholesome experience which has led to loss in business of retailers playing at local level. In my opinion, this is a welcome development and everyone should be aware that change is constant and we need to upgrade ourselves with time.

Firstly, competition is always healthy in any marketplace. Buyers should have ample options to choose from price, variety, value and service. As customer is the king, this will help in breaking the monopoly in the market. In addition to this, business dynamics will help in enhancing the ethical practices that will benefit the final consumers. To cite an example, after opening up of shopping malls in Delhi NCR region, according to study by consumers research firm, small retailers lowered their margins and it promoted healthy pricing for consumers.

Secondly, Opening up of huge shopping place will mean better employment opportunities and which in turn helps driving the wage rate. More organized and learning prospects means talented people will grow in their careers. Additionally, poverty can be minimized and brain can be controlled. Effective compliance in labour laws means better work-life balance for all employees. For Example, organized retail has helped in improving the registration of employees in provident fund scheme, as per data released by government of labour for the last decade.

To sum it up, Challenging business with new perspective will lead to overall growth of the society and consumers will be ultimately benefitted. Also, personnel growth will be possible in real terms.