In recent years, many small local shops have closed because of customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

It has been seen that consumers are preferring shopping complexes lately due to which many small indigenous businesses have closed . Some people believe that this is a positive development, whereas others hold the opposite perspective. In this essay, I will delve deeper into this topic by discussing both the positive and the negative sides, while expressing my support for the latter.

To begin with, a good reason for believing that closure of small shops is a negative advancement is because this can increase overall country’s poverty. This implies that the owners of small businesses could strive to earn money and they might unable to feed themselves and their families ; therefore, this would encourage the individuals to do unlawful activities to earn their living. Consequently, the crime rate may soar as a huge segment of the society can becomes unemployed .

On the other hand, having the convenience for purchasing is one of the reasons why convenient shops are not preferred by customers. This means that malls could offer a wider range of products and services under one roof so that the public might buy different commodities without going to different shops; as a result, people would buy groceries quickly. However, the earnings for small business owners will still be at risk as enormous shopping centres can attract the customers thereby forcing local shops to close.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinions, I personally believe that closing tiny retailers influences communities negatively because this can soar nation’s poverty rate causing different problems in the society. If the general populace do not understand this and continue to shop from malls, then we might see hunger and homeless prevailing the country.