In recent years many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping Is this a positive or negative development

Big shopping malls are nowadays substituting many small shops. This happening has resulted in the closing down those small shops. From the buyer point of view the situation has become more convenient however, from the business owners’ side it is not a very positive development.

In today’s busy life, people rather to go to a shopping mall in which everything they need is provided such as groceries, apparel, and so on. To avoid traffic jams and save time, customers go to a big mall to see many shops at the same time and purchase what they need instead of wondering around different small local shops. For instance, in Iran there are many malls opening in which there is a big grocery, fruit shop, bakery, and butchery. This mall has become the most popular shopping destination as people can aces all they need once by going there instead of visiting each of these shops separately.

However, on the flip side, there are many local businesses which is owned by a family. These stores must be shut down and this result in higher rate of unemployment. Also, these people have to move to the cities to find jobs which is not very appealing for them. Furthermore, local businesses are a place that present cultures and traditional parts of a country. If they close down, those unique products also will vanish by time.

in a nutshell, I believe that big shopping malls are harming small local businesses and the construction of them should be controlled and regulated by the government to protect the owner of local entrepreneurs.