in recent years, more and more people tend to live alone. does it a positive or negative trend. what are the causes of this trend?

An increasing number of individuals prefer to live in their separate homes. In my opinion, this phenomenon has a detrimental impact on society because it causes health problems among people, and the major reason for this trend is that individuals want to maintain privacy in their lives.

People who prefer to live alone often suffer from multifarious psychological problems. This is because when men and women live away from their family members, it becomes difficult for them to share their personal and professional problems with them. As a result, people are mostly unable to find solutions to these problems, leading to stress, frustration, and depression among them. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the Punjab Health Administration found that 70% of the adults who suffer from severe depression are those who live alone in their apartment.

The main reason for which a large number of people prefer to live alone is that they want to enjoy privacy in their lives. In other words, most individuals do not tolerate the interference of others in their personal lives because they believe that it will decrease their enjoyment and freedom. Moreover, there are many activities that are considered taboo in society, but youngsters often want to participate in them. Therefore, they mostly decide to live away from their families when they are financially independent. For example, recent research revealed that 60% of the undergraduates at Chandigarh University who choose to reside in hostels are those whose parents do not allow them to pursue their hobbies.

To conclude, living individually causes various mental disorders among people, and the reason for this phenomenon is that individuals often prefer to do what they want which is difficult while living with others.