In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public areas. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

In many nations, smoking is considered to be an illegal activity in public areas. It is often believed that this ban is acceptable. In my opinion, I agree with this view because smoking in public places has an adverse effect on children and is dangerous for the health of passive smokers.

A major reason for which prohibiting smoking in common places is justified is that it has a negative impact on youngsters. This is to say that when young ones observe smokers smoking cigarettes, they think that it is adventurous to smoke cigarettes. As a consequence, they start smoking and consuming other kinds of drugs at a young age, which is harmful to their lives. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the Public Health Department in Punjab found that 85% of teenagers start smoking after noticing others.

Another reason owing to which disallowing smoking at bus stops and restaurants is acceptable is that it is dangerous for the people who do not smoke. In other words, when individuals smoke in public areas, passive smokers inhale the polluted air, which is more harmful than smoking actively. As a result, passive smokers suffer from dreadful respiratory disorders, such as lung cancer and pulmonary cirrhosis. For example, recent research conducted by the University of Texas reveals that passive smokers have 35% more chances of suffering from lung cancer compared to active smokers.

In conclusion, I agree with the opinion of banning smoking in public areas because public smoking is disadvantageous for teenagers and makes passive smokers unhealthy.